• Students ages 3-21 may be served in special education programs through identification of the following disabilities. Eligibility requirements are established by the Texas Education Agency (TEA), based on federal and state law.

    Disability categories include the following:

    • Deaf or Hard of Hearing* 
    • Autism
    • Deaf-Blind*
    • Emotional Disturbance
    • Intellectual Disability
    • Learning Disability
    • Multiple Impairment
    • Other Health Impairment
    • Orthopedic Impairment
    • Speech/Language Impairment
    • Traumatic Brain Injury
    • Visual Impairment* 

    *Services may begin at birth for children with visual impairments and/or Deaf or hard of hearing.

    Your child must have a disability as defined through federal and state guidelines. As a result of this disability, your child must demonstrate an educational need for services in order to be eligible for special education services. 

    For more information on the criteria for each disability category, see the Legal Framework for the Child-Centered Special Education Process.  
    You can also find more information about specific disability categories, related internet resources and support organizations.